April 26, 2018 GMT

HUNTINGTON — Nine athletes represent eight sports in the Class of 2018 for the Marshall University Athletic Hall of Fame.

The athletes selected include four men and five women, all of whom changed the landscape of their teams.

“This class represents some of the finest student-athletes in school history,” Marshall Athletic Director Mike Hamrick said in a release. “The contributions of these fine men and women are truly appreciated by everyone in the Marshall athletics family.”

Hall of Fame inductions are Sept. 7 at the annual Hall of Fame Dinner in Memorial Student Center.

• Kelly-Anne Billingy starred for the volleyball program of Marshall head coach Mitch Jacobs from 2004-07 and finished her career as the Herd’s all-time leader with 2,481 kills. She was a three-time AVCA All-American and three-time Conference USA Player of the Year from 2005 to 2007.

She led Mars hall to a C-USA championship in 2005 and regular-season titles in 2005 and 2007. Following her career, she represented Trinidad and Tobago on the national team.

• Dave Piepenbrink was an All-Southern Conference baseball first-team selection in 1990 and garnered second-team honors in 1989 as a shortstop for the Herd. Piepenbrink ranks in the top 10 at Marshall in seven statistical categories.

Later, Piepenbrink returned to his alma mater to coach for nine seasons and compiled 170 wins, which is good for third in Marshall baseball history.

• Marshall football also has a pair of Hall of Fame inductees in this year’s class with kicker Dewey Klein (1988-91) and wide receiver Josh Davis (2001-04).

“This class represents some of the finest student-athletes in school history.”

Mike Hamrick Marshall athletic director

Klein is fifth all-time in Marshall scoring with 330 points, and he booted a Marshall record 19 field goals for the 1988 Herd in a Southern Conference championship season.

Davis was a Freshman All-American and a four-year All Mid-American Conference honoree during a career when he caught 306 passes for 3,889 yards. Davis went on to play for four NFL teams while also earning an NFL Europe Championship with the Hamburg Sea Devils.

In addition to Billingy, there are several other female athletes named that left their mark with the Herd in this Hall of Fame class.

• Milla Kuurto is one of Marshall’s most decorated swimmers as an all-conference selection three times in the Mid-American Conference and once in C-USA. In all, Kuurto won six conference titles and qualified for the NCAA Championships twice. Kuurto amassed 14 school records in her career, was named the 2002-03 MAC Swimmer of the Year and was a four-time conference all-academic selection.

• Jessica Williams Sweat finished her Marshall softball career (2003-06) ranked in the top five for six statistical categories and led the Herd to a pair of Mid-American Conference regular-season titles in 2003 and 2005, as well as a runner-up finish in C-USA in 2006. Williams Sweat was part of a four-year class that earned 143 wins in four seasons, and she earned all-conference honors in all four seasons.

She went on to play in the National Pro Fastpitch for six years and later came back to Marshall as an assistant coach.

• Sikeetha Shepard-Hall was a two-sport standout in women’s basketball and track and field, earning conference accolades in three of her four seasons. Shepard-Hall connected on 146 3-point shots in her career — then a Marshall record — and is still third all-time with 1,609 points and fifth in field goals made with 537.

Following her basketball career, Shepard-Hall qualified for the NCAA East Regional Championships in track and field with a long jump of 20 feet, 3 inches and also ran the 100 meters in 12.59 seconds. Her 4x100 relay team set a school record in May 2006 of 46.78 seconds.

• Garland Barnhart was also a two-sport standout for the Herd from 1950 to 1954, excelling in track and field and also playing football. Barnhart competed in many field events including pole vault, high jump, broad jump, shot put and discus while also running sprints.

Barnhart set the Ohio Valley Conference record with a 12-foot, 6-inch pole vault while also logging third-place finishes in the high jump and broad jump to help Marshall win a conference championship.

• Erica West also excelled in track and field, setting records that still stand, including the 55-meter dash mark of 7.21 seconds. During her time with the Herd, West set 10 school records. She was an All-Southern Conference performer all four years and served as a tri-captain for the team in her final three years with the program while excelling both indoors and outdoors.


• Garland Barnhart, 1950-54, track and field/ football

• Kelly-Anne Billingy, 2004-07, volleyball

• Josh Davis, 2001-04, football

• Dewey Klein, 1988-91, football

• Milla Kuurto, 2002-06, swimming and diving

• Dave Piepenbrink, 1987-90, baseball

• Sikeetha Shepard-Hall, 2002-06, basketball/ track

• Erica West, 1987-90, track and field

• Jessica Williams Sweat, 2003-06, softball