Related topics

St. John’s continues SPC dominance in field hockey

December 17, 2018 GMT

The St. John’s field hockey team was the class of the SPC in 2015 and 2016, winning consecutive conference championships. The trophy stayed in town last fall, but went to rival Kinkaid as the Mavericks were stopped in the semifinals.

There was no stopping the Mavericks this year. St. John’s outscored SPC competition 41-1 and did not allow a goal in the tournament to claim its 14th field hockey title.

The Mavericks finished 19-0-1 overall, with the only draw 3-3 against Villa Duchesne during a competitive trip to St. Louis.

“This is one of the most unified teams you can ask for,” St. John’s coach and alumnus Craig Chambers said. “From freshman to seniors, they worked well together and played great. It was a fun year.”


St. John’s excelled against competition from all leagues, including wins against TAPPS state finalists Duchesne and St. Agnes by a combined 15-0. The Mavericks shut out every team in South Zone play, the exception a 2-1 win against Kinkaid to secure the No. 1 tournament seed.

The Mavericks blanked Arlington Oakridge 4-0 and Austin St. Stephen’s 3-0 to set up an all-Houston final against the Falcons.

Sadie McCabe assisted Mary VanLoh to break a scoreless tie before halftime, providing the only goal the Mavericks needed in a 3-0 victory. Frederique Fyhr and Kate Ainbinder put the match out of reach, with Amelie Perrier adding an assist.

“I was a little nervous since we only beat them 2-1 the last time we played,” Fyhr said. “Finishing strong is really important to us and a 3-0 was an accomplishment.”

Seniors Perrier, Fyhr, Izzy Chambers, Natalie Stone and Amy Worscheh earned all-SPC honors for the Mavericks, who turned in an impressive campaign, even by their standards.

“The whole season was really rewarding,” Chambers said. “It was the perfect way to end.”

The St. John’s field hockey team will graduate an outstanding senior class that includes Jaya Krishnan, May McCabe and Hatley Post. Worscheh was the first of the group to sign a scholarship, as she will play at Davidson next year.

Juniors VanLoh, Ainbinder, Sofia Castore, Sadie McCabe, Sinclair Mott, Eloise Reasoner, Margaret Shelburne, Kennedy Sholeen and Amelia Williams, sophomores Katherine Edwards and freshmen Megan Chang, Sloan Davidson and Megan Wetzel will be among those seeking a fourth conference championship in five years.

All-SPC Fall

Boys cross country

Houston Christian: Grayson Jennings

St. John’s: Sam Faraguna, Emmanuel Sgouros, Davis Thames



Episcopal: Patrick Bayouth, Donovan Jackson, Jordan Wells, C.J. Williams, James Ogunrin

Houston Christian: Ryan Hirschbuehler, Collin Smith-Hyberg, Max Williams

Kinkaid: Josh Williams, Wyatt Young, Zach Daniel, Ameer Mustafa, Victor Garza, Jordan Ricks

St. John’s: Roman Lewis, Malcolm Sturgis, Matthew Kushwaha, Harrison Fernelius

Boys volleyball

Episcopal: Jackson Kelso, Jacob Dixon

Kinkaid: Kamsi Ndee

St. John’s: Benny He

Girls cross country

Episcopal: Kat Kwiatkowski, Ella Newman, Kate Freeman

Houston Christian: Hannah Fritsche

Kinkaid: Kevriana Scott, Alexandra Blake, Laura Behr, Camila Vicens

Field hockey

Episcopal: Sophie Thomas, Ellie Ragiel

Houston Christian: Emily Wray

Kinkaid: Annabel Skubisz, Olivia Marrus, Laine Jacobe, Lauren Moak

St. John’s: Amelie Perrier, Frederique Fyhr, Izzy Chambers, Natalie Stone, Amy Worscheh

Girls volleyball

Episcopal: Brennan Howell, Trinity Watts

Houston Christian: Kayla Daly

Kinkaid: Onuchi Ndee, Marynell Ward

St. John’s: Alexandra Lewis, Celia Adams, Nova Manning