Related topics

List of Nominees for 1986 Tony Awards With PM-Tonys

May 6, 1986 GMT

NEW YORK (AP) _ Here is the list of Tony award nominees for Broadway’s 1985-86 season.

Winners will be announced June 1 in ceremonies televised by CBS-TV.

Play: ″Benefactors,″ Michael Frayn; ″Blood Knot,″ Athol Fugard; ″The House of Blue Leaves,″ John Guare; ″I’m Not Rappaport,″ Herb Gardner.

Musical: ″Big Deal″; ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood″; ″Song & Dance″; ″Tango Argentino.″

Revival: ″Hay Fever″; ″The Iceman Cometh″; ″Loot″; ″Sweet Charity.″

Actor, Play: Hume Cronyn, ″The Petition;″ Ed Harris, ″Precious Sons;″ Judd Hirsch, ″I’m Not Rappaport;″ Jack Lemmon, ″Long Day’s Journey Into Night.″

Actress, Play: Rosemary Harris, ″Hay Fever;″ Mary Beth Hurt, ″Benefactors; ″ Jessica Tandy, ″The Petition;″ Lily Tomlin, ″The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe.″

Actor, Musical: Don Correia, ″Singin’ in the Rain;″ Cleavant Derricks, ″Big Deal;″ Maurice Hines, ″Uptown ... It’s Hot 3/8;″ George Rose, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood.″

Actress, Musical: Debbie Allen, ″Sweet Charity;″ Cleo Laine, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Bernadette Peters, ″Song & Dance;″ Chita Rivera, ″Jerry’s Girls.″

Book, Musical: Bob Fosse, ″Big Deal;″ Rupert Holmes, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Betty Comden and Adolph Green, ″Singin’ in the Rain;″ Jane Iredale, ″Wind in the Willows.″

Score, Musical: ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood,″ music and lyrics by Rupert Holmes; ″The News,″ music and lyrics by Paul Schierhorn; ″Song & Dance,″ music by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Don Black and Richard Maltby Jr; ″Wind in the Willows,″ music by William Perry and lyrics by Roger McGough and William Perry.

Director, Play: Jonathan Miller, ″Long Day’s Journey Into Night;″ Jose Quintero, ″The Iceman Cometh;″ John Tillinger, ″Loot;″ Jerry Zaks, ″The House of Blue Leaves.″

Director, Musical: Bob Fosse, ″Big Deal;″ Wilford Leach, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Richard Maltby Jr., ″Song & Dance;″ Claudio Segovia and Hector Orezzoli, ″Tango Argentino.″

Featured Actor, Play: Peter Gallagher, ″Long Day’s Journey Into Night;″ Charles Keating, ″Loot;″ Joseph Maher, ″Loot;″ John Mahoney, ″The House of Blue Leaves.″

Featured Actress, Play: Stockard Channing, ″The House of Blue Leaves;″ Swoosie Kurtz, ″The House of Blue Leaves;″ Bethel Leslie, ″Long Day’s Journey Into Night;″ Zoe Wanamaker, ″Loot.″

Featured Actor, Musical: Christopher d’Amboise, ″Song & Dance;″ John Herrera, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Howard McGillin, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Michael Rupert, ″Sweet Charity.″

Featured Actress, Musical: Patti Cohenour, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Bebe Neuwirth, ″Sweet Charity;″ Jana Schneider, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Elisabeth Welch, ″Jerome Kern Goes to Hollywood.″

Scenic Design: Ben Edwards, ″The Iceman Cometh;″ David Mitchell, ″The Boys of Winter;″ Beni Montresor, ″The Marriage of Figaro;″ Tony Walton, ″The House of Blue Leaves.″

Costume Design: Willa Kim, ″Song & Dance;″ Beni Montresor, ″The Marriage of Figaro;″ Ann Roth, ″The House of Blue Leaves;″ Patricia Zipprodt, ″Sweet Charity.″

Lighting Design: Pat Collins, ″I’m Not Rappaport;″ Jules Fisher, ″Song & Dance;″ Paul Gallo, ″The House of Blue Leaves;″ Thomas R. Skelton, ″The Iceman Cometh.″

Choreography: Graciela Danielle, ″The Mystery of Edwin Drood;″ Bob Fosse, ″Big Deal;″ Peter Martins, ″Song & Dance;″ The Tango Argentino Dancers for ″Tango Argentino.″ The producers of ″Tango Argentino″ wanted that designation in the nominations; the opening-night program listed Juan Carlos Copes as choreographer.

A special Tony award for continued excellence by a regional theater: American Repertory Theater in Cambridge, Mass.