School districts receive funding for libraries

April 6, 2019 GMT

WISCONSIN DELLS -- A total of $36.2 million in Common School Fund library aid will be distributed to Wisconsin K-12 public school libraries in 2019, including those in area school districts.

On behalf of the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands, State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski, BCPL board chairwoman, presented State Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor with a ceremonial check at the Wisconsin Educational & Media Technology Association’s annual conference at the Kalahari Resort in the Wisconsin Dells earlier this month.

The following area school districts will receive funds: Dodgeland, $33,215; Herman-Neosho-Rubicon, $11,747; Horicon, $38,153; Hustisford, $19,077; Jefferson, $82,962; Johnson Creek, $30,394; Lake Mills Area, $55,022; Marshall, $42,631; Oconomowoc Area, $233,336; Waterloo, $34,994; and Watertown, $175,708.


The Board of Commissioners of Public Lands generates earnings for the Common School Fund that are then distributed annually to public school libraries. These monies are the sole source of state funding for public school libraries.

A complete list of school districts and the amounts they received can be viewed at bcpl.wisconsin.gov/Pages/Home.aspx.