Runoff election date scheduled; Early voting begins June 10

May 18, 2019 GMT

A June 22 date has been scheduled for the Brownsville Municipal runoff election that will determine who will be the next mayor and the District 1 and At large A city commissioners.

The Brownsville City Commission voted on the June 22 date at Thursday’s City Commission meeting and on Friday, the candidates drew ballots to determine where their names will be placed on the ballot.

The names will appear on the ballot as follows: Mayor: Charlie Cabler, Trey Mendez, City Commissioner At-Large “A”: John Cowen, Jessica Puente Bradshaw and City Commission District 1: Nurith Galonsky, Ricardo Longoria Jr.


Early voting for the runoff election will be held from June 10 through June 17, and if you want to vote in the election but are not a registered voter the last day to register to vote is May 23, said Remi Garza, administrator for the Cameron County Elections and Voter Registration Department.

The county Elections Department will be handling the municipal election.

Unofficial results from the May 4 municipal election indicate the need for the runoff election since none of the candidates running for those three positions received 50 percent plus 1 vote that would cancel the need for a runoff election.

In the mayoral race there will be a runoff between Mendez and Cabler. Mendez garnered 4,328 votes compared to 3,396 for Cabler and 2,893 for incumbent Tony Martinez, unofficial returns revealed. The candidates’ share of the vote was 40.76 percent for Mendez, 31.99 percent for Cabler and 27.25 percent for Martinez.

For the City Commission At-Large A seat, which was vacated by former commissioner Cesar De Leon, who resigned earlier this year, candidate Cowen narrowly missed winning the race outright and will face off with Puente-Bradshaw in a runoff.

Cowen received 49.45% of the vote with 5,194 residents choosing him compared to Puente-Bradshaw, who received 27.26% of the vote, with 2,863 people casting ballots for her.

Candidate Carlos Guerrero received 14.28% of the vote for a total of 1,500 ballots cast for him while candidate Ismael Hinojosa garnered 9.01% of the vote with 946 residents choosing him.

The District 1 race features a runoff between a political newcomer and the City Commission’s longest tenured commissioner.

Longoria, who received 30.75% of the vote with 598 ballots cast for him, was edged out by Galonsky, who received 35.48% of the vote with 690 ballots cast for her.

Candidate William Garza received 8.79% of the vote with 171 people voting for him while Michael Rodriguez earned 24.99% of the vote with 486 ballots cast for him.