Mayor, commissioner seats to be decided in runoff election

May 7, 2019

No date has been scheduled yet for the Brownsville Municipal runoff election that will determine who will be the next mayor and the District 1 and At large A city commissioners.

The date for the runoff election will be decided and voted on by the Brownsville city commission at an upcoming city commission meeting yet to be announced, officials said.

Unofficial results from Saturday’s municipal election indicate the need for the runoff election since none of the candidates running for those three positions received 50 percent plus 1 vote that would cancel the need for a runoff election.

In the mayoral race there will be a runoff between attorney Trey Mendez and former city manager Charlie Cabler. Mendez garnered 4,328 votes compared to 3,396 for Cabler and 2,893 for Martinez, unofficial returns revealed. The candidates’ share of the vote was 40.76 percent for Mendez, 31.99 percent for Cabler and 27.25 percent for Martinez.

In the City Commission At-Large A seat, which was vacated by former commissioner Cesar De Leon, who resigned earlier this year, candidate John Cowen narrowly missed winning the race outright and will face off with Jessica Puente-Bradshaw in a runoff.

Cowen received 49.45% of the vote with 5,194 residents choosing him compared to Puente-Bradshaw, who received 27.26% of the vote, with 2,863 people casting ballots for her.

Candidate Carlos Guerrero received 14.28% of the vote for a total of 1,500 ballots cast for him while candidate Ismael Hinojosa garnered 9.01% of the vote with 946 residents choosing him.

The District 1 race features a runoff between a political newcomer and the City Commission’s longest tenured commissioner.

Incumbent Ricardo Longoria, who received 30.75% of the vote with 598 ballots cast for him, was edged out by Nurith Galonsky, who received 35.48% of the vote with 690 ballots cast for her.

Candidate William Garza received 8.79% of the vote with 171 people voting for him while Michael Rodriguez earned 24.99% of the vote with 486 ballots cast for him.