NDA Sophs Attend Leadership Seminar

July 29, 2018

TYNGSBORO -- Two sophomores from the Academy of Notre Dame recently attended the recent Massachusetts Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Seminar at Bentley University.

Nora Leach of Groton, daughter of Timothy and Geraldine Leach, and Olivia Gavlak of Hudson, N.H., daughter of Russell and Liz Gavlak, were selected to represent the academy along with 220 other high-school leaders from across the state.

Each spring, the HOBY Leadership Seminar hosts sophomores who have been selected to represent their public or private high school. The program recognizes the students’ leadership talents and provides them with the tools to become effective and ethical leaders. Student participants, known as HOBY ambassadors, take part in hands-on activities, hear powerful presentations from innovative and passionate speakers, and explore their own personal leadership skills while learning how to lead others and make a positive impact in their community.

At the end of their seminars, HOBY ambassadors are challenged to give back by serving at least 100 volunteer hours in their communities. Students who complete the Leadership for Service Challenge, or L4S, within 12 months of their seminar are eligible for the HOBY L4S Challenge Award and the President’s Volunteer Service Award. Alumni who log 4,000 hours of service receive the President’s Call to Service Award from HOBY. To date, HOBY ambassadors have performed more than 3 million hours of volunteer service in their communities.

Upper School Principal Helen Kay said the school is proud of the students’ hard work and achievements.

“Both girls have shown great determination to get where they are, and their leadership qualities will certainly continue to take them far in life,” she said.

For 56 years, the program has helped to cultivate leaders by inspiring a global community of youths and volunteers to a life dedicated to leadership, service and innovation. For more information, visit www.mahoby.org .

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.