Online radio station joins Dayton chamber

June 19, 2017 GMT

Liberty Radio Texas is among the newest members of the Dayton Chamber of Commerce. A ribbon-cutting ceremony was held Thursday, June 15, during the chamber’s annual Taste of Dayton.

The web-only radio station, found at www.libertyradiotexas.com, was founded by Dayton resident Jeff Leblanc in October 2016. The programming director is Russell Payne.

“We offer a variety music station with rock and country mixed in with some political talk shows,” Leblanc said. “The radio station is doing great. One of the advantages of an internet radio station is that we can track listenership. Our audience appears to be growing by about 25 percent each month.”

The radio station’s online format is especially appealing to a younger generation of listeners, Leblanc said.

“It’s the trend of the modern generation. Plus if you want to start a new radio station these days you must buy one that is already established. You can’t just go out and get a license from the FCC. They aren’t issuing new radio station licenses these days,” he said.

The line-up includes Liberty Line, hosted by Leblanc, Art Sisneros and Wesley Thomas, a show that is about local and state issues. Featured guests from the past are County Judge Jay Knight, County Attorney Matthew Poston and Sheriff Bobby Rader.

“On Wednesday evenings, we have Politics After Dark with Josh Delano, a former congressional staffer,” Leblanc said. “That show is more about the DC political scene.”

Proving that there is something for everyone, every Monday night at 8 p.m. is a showed called “A Walk Into the Unknown,” hosted by Roger Johnson.

“It’s about paranormal stuff - Bigfoot, Aliens and the supernatural -- and has a surprisingly large draw,” said Leblanc.

If you miss a show or want to try out a sampling of what the station has to offer, podcasts are available on the website.

“If you listen for about 20 minutes, you will find something you like,” Leblanc said.

The radio station is headquartered in Dayton off of FM 1409. Letters may be sent to P.O. Box 2684, Dayton, Texas, 77535.