Danny Ford, Steve Spurrier among 13 new members elected to College Football Hall of Fame

January 9, 2017

COLUMBIA — The coach who first brought a national championship to Clemson and the coach who carried South Carolina to its greatest heights were among the 13 new members elected Monday to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Former Clemson head coach Danny Ford and former South Carolina head coach Steve Spurrier are among those who will be inducted at the National Football Foundation dinner Dec. 5 in New York, and immortalized at the Hall of Fame’s facility in downtown Atlanta.

Ford finished with a 122-59-5 career record at Clemson and Arkansas, including a 96-29-4 mark with the Tigers. At Clemson he won five ACC championships, had seven Top 25 teams, coached 21 All-Americans, and won the 1981 national title with a victory over Nebraska in the Orange Bowl.

Ford is the fourth former Clemson head coach to be named to the Hall, following John Heisman, Jess Neely, and Frank Howard, and joins former Tigers players Banks McFadden, Terry Kinard and Jeff Davis. Ford is third in ACC history in career winning percentage with a .760 mark.

Danny Ford won the 1981 national title at Clemson. (File/Wade Spees/Staff)

Spurrier compiled a 228-89-2 record in over 25 seasons as a major college head coach, including an 86-49 mark at South Carolina. He is the winningest coach at two SEC schools, Florida and USC, joining Paul “Bear” Bryant as the only coaches with that distinction.

At a program that had never won more than 10 games in a single season, Spurrier won 11 in three consecutive years. He also won a program-record four straight bowl games (part of five wins, and nine overall postseason appearances), won five games in a row over rival Clemson, and he owns 22 more victories than any other Gamecocks head coach.

In 12 seasons at Florida, Spurrier went 122-27-1, winning six SEC championships and the 1996 national title. The 1966 Heisman Trophy winner was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1986, and will become just the fourth person enshrined as both a player and a coach.

Ford and Spurrier will be inducted along with Larry Kehres, who won 92 percent of his games at Division III Mount Union (Ohio) from 1986-2012. The players chosen include former Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning, former San Diego State running back Marshall Faulk, and former Georgia Southern running back Adrian Peterson.