Joe’s Morning Sports-Thursday, March 8, 2018

March 9, 2018

James Harden scored 26 points, Eric Gordon had 18 points and two momentum-swinging three-pointers in the third quarter, and the Houston Rockets beat the Milwaukee Bucks 110-99 last night for their 17th straight win. The Rockets passed the Boston Celtics for the longest winning streak in the NBA this season. Houston hasn’t lost since Jan. 26 at New Orleans.

LeBron James scored 39 points, including nine down the stretch, and dished out ten assists as the Cleveland Cavaliers beat the Denver Nuggets 113-108 after squandering a 16-point lead last night. James made one off-balanced shot after another in the waning minutes to turn back the Nuggets, who didn’t take their first lead of the game until 8:35 remaining on a driving layup by Mason Plumlee.

University of San Diego coach Lamont Smith resigned last night, ten days after he was arrested for investigation of domestic violence at the end of a road trip. Smith’s resignation came one day after the San Francisco District Attorney’s Office said he wouldn’t face charges “at this time” in a domestic violence investigation. Even though no charges were filed, the university said on Tuesday that Smith remained on administrative leave pending a school investigation. Smith was arrested at the Oakland airport on Feb. 25, a day after the Toreros won at San Francisco in the regular season finale.

The Northeast Hawks women’s basketball team is one step away from the National Tournament. The 25-4 Hawks will host fourth ranked 31-0 Moberly Area Community College of Missouri on Friday at 6:00 in the District ‘K’ Championship at the Cox Activities Center. Northeast, who has won three games in a row and five of their last six, showcase a balanced attack with only two players in double figures while the Greyhounds have four players averaging double figures. The winner advances to the NJCAA Division I Women’s National Tournament in Lubbock, TX, later this month. In other Northeast Hawks women’s basketball news, four members of the team have earned postseason honors. Sophomores Mykala Baylor and Sierra Bell were named to the ICCAC Division I All-Region First Team while Irene Sanz and Judit Valls received Honorable Mention.

Checking out the local schedule for today, the High School Boys Basketball State Tournament gets underway at various sites in Lincoln. Regarding area teams, in Class ‘C-1’, at Devaney Center, in a game that can be heard on 106 KIX & 106KIX.com, Boone Central/Newman Grove takes on Broken Bow at 2:00. Pregame coverage at 1:40. In another Class ‘C-1’ contest, Winnebago meets Syracuse at 3:45. In Class ‘C-2’, at Lincoln Southeast High School, in a game that can be heard on 106 KIX & 106KIX.com, Bancroft/Rosalie/Lyons/Decatur battles Elmwood/Murdock at 8:45 PM. Pregame coverage at 8:25. Also in Class ‘C-2’, Ponca faces Perkins County at 7:00. In Class ‘D-1’, at Lincoln Northeast High School, in a game that can be heard on Lite Rock 97.5 & KEXL.com, Osmond plays Heartland at 2:00. Pregame coverage at 1:40. Also in Class ‘D-1’, West Holt goes head to head with Johnson/Brock at 10:45 and Fullerton faces Kenesaw at 3:45. In Class ‘D-2’, Wynot battles Riverside at Lincoln Northeast High School at 7:00. Elsewhere, the Creighton men’s basketball team takes on Providence at New York City in the BIG EAST Tournament quarterfinals at 1:30, the Nebraska baseball team hosts Cal Poly at 1:35, and the Nebraska-Omaha baseball team is in Provo, Utah to play BYU at 6:00.

Local Schedule: Creighton vs. Providence at New York City (BIG EAST MBB Tourn. Quarterfinals-1:30); Cal Poly at Nebraska (Bsbl-1:35); Nebraska-Omaha at BYU at Provo, UT (Bsbl-6:00).

Local Scores: NECC 6 St. Clair CC (MI) 4; NECC 5 McCook CC 4 (Bsbl at McCook); NECC 15-2 Neosho County CC (KS) 6-8 (SB DH); WSC 3 Stonehill (MA) 2; Lewis Univ. (IL) 14 WSC 11 (9 Inn.) (SB).

CBS Sports Radio at 105.9 WJAG-FM & 780 AM Mon-Fri at 6:00 PM; Sat at 4:00; & Sun at 1:00.


Final Utah 104 Indiana 84

Final Chicago 119 Memphis 110

Final Houston 110 Milwaukee 99

Final OT Toronto 121 Detroit 119

Final New Orleans 114 Sacramento 101

Final L.A. Lakers 108 Orlando 107

Final Cleveland 113 Denver 108



Final Calgary 5 Buffalo 1

Final Pittsburgh 5 Philadelphia 2

Final Arizona 2 Vancouver 1



Final (12) North Carolina 78 Syracuse 59