Click to copy
Click to copy
Related topics

Four Committee Members Unseated

February 4, 1989

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Reporters for magazines and other periodical publications unseated four members of the committee that accredits journalists who work out of the Periodical Press Gallery in Congress.

The mail balloting, whose results were announced Friday, was led by Douglas Harbrecht of McGraw-Hill publications with 439 votes.

Other winners: Hays Gorey, Time, Inc., 419 votes; Mark Allen Kellner, Fairchild Publications, 378; Stan Zimmerman, Pasha Publications, 361; Patrick M. Clawson, Radio & Records, 359; Arthur Brodsky, Warren Publishing, 357, and Rebecca Pearl, BNA Publications, 355.

Harbrecht, Gorey and Ms. Pearl are incumbents.

The defeated candidates: Andy Plattner, U.S. News & World Report; Rich Maze, Times Journal Publications; Richard Cohen, National Journal, and Ken Dalecki, Washington Kiplinger Editors.

The major issue in the campaign was a new directive by the panel - officially the Executive Committee of the Periodical Correspondents Association - requiring stricter disclosure of outside income.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.