Two Knights, one Timberwolf named all-MSAC basketball

March 17, 2019 GMT

HUNTINGTON — Cabell Midland senior Ty Sturm and freshman Chandler Schmidt were named first-team all-Mountain State Athletic Conference in boys basketball.

Spring Valley star C.J. Meredith and Hurricane standout Joe Muto also made the first team, along with player of the year Bunky Brown of George Washington, Rodney Toler of St. Albans, Bryce Radford and Danny Bickey of Woodrow Wilson and Javante Elzy of Riverside.

Kris Brown of Huntington High, Graeson Malashevich of Spring Valley and Jordan Nicely and Austin Dearing of Hurricane made the second team. Joining them were Cavonte Duncan and Karrington Hill of Capital, Kionte Peacock of Parkersburg, Mason Pinkett of George Washington and Shazaun Cunningham of South Charleston.

Bryan England of St. Albans was named coach of the year.

Earning special honorable mention were Torin Lochow of Huntington High, Chase Maynard of Spring Valley, David Taylor and Ethan Kent of Capital, Gus Eddy of George Washington, Dylan Shaver of Parkersburg, Brian Massey and Trequan Gibson of Riverside, Jaimelle Claytor and Bones Johnson of St. Albans and Micah Hancock of Woodrow Wilson.

Honorable-mention selections were Korbin Page of Huntington High, Jake Edwards of Cabell Midland, Doug Nester of Spring Valley, Austin Womack of Hurricane, Jacob ­McKnight of Parkersburg, Richard Walker of Riverside, Jaydyn Johnson of South Charleston, Ethan Clay of St. Albans, Kerion Martin of Capital, Evan Hughes of George Washington and Mulluh Chi of Woodrow Wilson.