WPA annual awards announced

January 22, 2019

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) — Newspapers in Casper, Jackson and Lovell were named the best in Wyoming on Saturday during the Wyoming Press Association’s annual convention here.

The Casper Star-Tribune, Jackson Hole News & Guide and Lovell Chronicle were named winners of the WPA’s “general excellence” awards for daily, large weekly and small weekly newspapers, respectively.

“We already know Wyoming has some of the best newspapers in the nation according to judging in national contests,” said Kristen Czaban, publisher of The Sheridan Press who was elected the WPA’s president over the weekend. “So it’s always a treat to see which of our high-quality newspapers are selected as the best in the state.”

The “general excellence” award is given for consistent excellence in all aspects of newspaper publishing and is one of five “major awards” handed out by the WPA annually. Other major awards honor excellence in typography, advertising, photography and editorial writing.

Among daily newspapers, the Star-Tribune also won a first place award for photographic excellence. Star-Tribune photographer Josh Galemore was also named the best photographer in the state and reporter Seth Klamann was honored as the best young journalist of the year.

The Gillette News Record placed first for editorial writing and advertising excellence and second for typographic excellence. The Wyoming Tribune Eagle in Cheyenne placed first for typographic excellence and second for general, photographic and advertising excellence.

The Riverton Ranger earned second-place honors for editorial writing.

For large weekly newspapers, those with a circulation of more than 2,500, the Jackson Hole News & Guide placed first for photographic and advertising excellence in addition to its general excellence victory. The News & Guide also placed second for typographic excellence.

Winning top typographic honors was the Cody Enterprise, which also placed second for general and photographic excellence. Enterprise reporter Lew Freedman was also named the veteran Wyoming journalist of the year.

The Buffalo Bulletin placed first for editorial writing and second for advertising excellence, while Powell Tribune earned second place for photographic excellence.

The Lovell Chronicle placed first for editorial writing and typographic excellence in addition to its general excellence honors. Following the Chronicle in second place for general excellence among small weekly newspapers was the Kemmerer Gazette.

The Torrington Telegram won the award for photographic excellence, followed in second place by the Glenrock Independent.

The Saratoga Sun was the top finisher in advertising excellence, followed by the Bridger Valley Pioneer in Lyman in second place. The Newcastle News Letter Journal placed second for editorial writing.

In other business at the WPA’s 120th annual winter meeting, members selected Jade Stevenson of the Rocket-Miner, Lara Love of the Thermopolis Independent, Jen Sieve-Hicks of the Buffalo Bulletin and Rory Palm of the Wyoming Tribune Eagle to the association’s board.

In addition to Czaban’s election, Louie Mullen of the Green River Star was elected the board’s vice president and Stephanie Bonnar of the Newcastle News Letter Journal was elected secretary-treasurer.

The WPA represents Wyoming’s 43 newspapers in areas including lobbying, education and public relations.