Related topics

KC Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts members

November 23, 2016

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 27 new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony Nov. 15 in Jenkins Auditorium at the college.

The ceremony was presided over by current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Gabbie Cultra, president; Justin Otte, vice president; Andrew Kozinski, recording officer; Jair Mahali Granados Ramirez, public relations officer; and Jashawna Robinson, hallmark officer. The KC chapter faculty adviser is Allison von Ende.

During the ceremony, inductees and their families and friends enjoyed a guitar performance by Tim Lockman. The keynote speaker was Laurie Hoecherl, mathematics instructor at Kishwaukee College. Hoecherl also teaches leadership courses and is a former faculty adviser for the Alpha Rho Eta chapter at Kish College.

After the ceremony, inductees, families and friends enjoyed light refreshments in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in higher education. Founded in 1918, there are now 1,285 Phi Theta Kappa chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada and other countries around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually. The society offers opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment, and personal development through programs based on the society’s hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of college level course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on 4.0 scale. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.

The following local Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in the organization for fall 2016.

Creston: Benjamin Ward and Julie White.

DeKalb: Andrew Kozinski, Joshua Lazenby, Jenise Lorenzy, Matthew Meyer, Sandra Morales and Rebekkah Neff.

Genoa: Sydney Kaitchuck, Megan Theiner and Robert Whitten.

Kingston: Catherine Wille.

Sycamore: Erin Arnold, Cory Ernest, Rebekah Lewis, Kaitlin Scarpa, Jonathan Taylor and Amanda Weides.