$25,000 Award for Professors Who Inspired Former Students to Make a Difference in Their Communities

March 26, 2019 GMT

ATLANTA--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Mar 26, 2019--Since 2010, the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust has awarded $2.3 million to 94 professors from throughout the United States; each nominated by former student. The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Trust Award honors current or former academic faculty who, as teachers, have inspired a student to establish an organization which has demonstrated a benefit on the community at large or who inspired a student to establish a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large. Beckman Award winners receive a one-time cash award of $25,000 and recognition during a Fall 2019 ceremony in Atlanta.

Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award nominations are made by the former student as a means to honor the academic faculty member who inspired that student’s work. The nomination deadline for 2019 is April 30. Preference is given to educators who teach or who taught in the fields of psychology, medicine, or law. To submit a 2019 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award nomination or for more information: www.wellsfargo.com/privatefoundationgrants/beckman.


In 2018, seven professors received the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award and recognition: David L. Blustein, Ph.D., Boston College; Dr. Ross E. Cheit, Brown University; Elyn R. Saks, University of Southern California, University California San Diego; Patricia Perez, Ph.D., Chicago School of Professional Psychology; Charles H. Zeanah, Jr., M.S., Tulane University; Anna Mae Diehl, M.D., Duke University; and James Allan Gash, J.D., Pepperdine School of Law.

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust was established in 2008 under the Will of Gail McKnight Beckman. Beckman created the award in memory of her mother, Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman, an educator, a renowned author, and a pioneer in the field of Psychology. Dr. Beckman was one of the first female Psychology professors at Columbia University and she taught at the University of Pennsylvania. She authored nine books and textbooks about child and adolescent Psychology and was a champion of gender equality and advocate for the advancement of women in academia.

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust is administered by the Philanthropic Services group at Wells Fargo Private Bank.


View source version on businesswire.com:https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20190326005938/en/

CONTACT: Debra Faulk |debra.faulk@wellsfargo.com| (813) 326-1303

Raynell Kester |raynell.kester@wellsfargo.com| (912) 652-6350



SOURCE: Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust

Copyright Business Wire 2019.

PUB: 03/26/2019 03:34 PM/DISC: 03/26/2019 03:34 PM