Retirees celebrated at county inauguration

January 1, 2019 GMT

Monday’s swearing in of Allen County government officials was as much retirement party as inauguration.

In his last official action, retiring Superior Court Judge John Surbeck delivered the oath of office to winners in the Nov. 6 general election and recently appointed judicial officers, including his own replacement.

David Long, who retired on Election Day as the Indiana Senate’s president pro tem, was emcee for the gathering at the Allen County Courthouse rotunda. Long recognized the long careers of public service of Surbeck, retiring Superior Court Judge Stanley Levine and the absent Linda Bloom, who did not seek re-election as county commissioner.

Long noted that those three and the newly inaugurated officials “keep the wheels of local government running. They don’t make a lot of money. They certainly don’t get a lot of glory, but collectively they make a meaningful and important impact on our lives every single day.”

Incumbent officeholders sworn in Monday included Prosecutor Karen Richards, Auditor Nicholas Jordan, Recorder Anita Mather, Sheriff David Gladieux, Assessor Stacey O’Day, Commissioner Therese Brown and County Council members Sharon Tucker, Thomas Harris, Joel Benz and Larry Brown.

First-time officeholders sworn in were Circuit Court Clerk Christopher Nancarrow, Commissioner Richard Beck and County Council member Kyle Kerley.

A dozen of those who took their oaths are Republicans. Tucker is a Democrat.

Appointed judicial officials inaugurated were Superior Court Judges Jennifer DeGroote and David Zent and Magistrate John Bohdan. DeGroote replaces Levine, Zent replaces Surbeck, and Bohdan replaces Zent.

Numerous township officials also were sworn in during the 25-minute ceremony attended by about 150 people.