PCB’s new constitution has only 6 cricket associations

August 21, 2019 GMT

ISLAMABAD (AP) — The Pakistan Cricket Board has overhauled its constitution, reducing the number of cricket associations from 16 to six.

The PCB said in a statement on Wednesday that the new constitution was approved by the government’s cabinet division and came into effect on Monday.

The six associations are Baluchistan, Central Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Northern, Sindh and Southern Punjab.

Prime minister Imran Khan, who led the country to victory in the 1992 World Cup, is the patron of the cricket board. He had asked the PCB to reduce the number of teams competing in domestic cricket because he believed it could produce more quality players at international level.


The new PCB board of governors will have two members directly appointed by the patron; four independent members, including at least one female member; the chief executive of the PCB; a federal secretary with no voting rights; and three presidents of the cricket associations, who will be appointed on rotation basis from the six presidents of the cricket associations.

The post of PCB managing director is now being re-designated as chief executive.

The PCB has also given representation to the blind cricket council and deaf cricket association in the 11-member general body.


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports