Weatherspoon headlines Mizzou Hall of Fame class

August 29, 2017 GMT

COLUMBIA, MO. • Former linebacker Sean Weatherspoon headlines the latest induction class for the University of Missouri’s Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame class. Weatherspoon, a three-time first-team All-Big 12 linebacker from 2007-2009, is one of six former MU athletes who will be enshrined Oct. 20 in Columbia.

Weatherspoon was a two-time second-team All-American and finished his career with 413 tackles, which ranks third all-time at Mizzou. His 155 tackles in 2008 are the second-most in team history for a single season. A first-round NFL draft pick by Atlanta in 2010, Weatherspoon started 44 games from 2010-16 with the Falcons and Cardinals. He’s currently a free agent.

Weatherspoon will be the sixth player from the Gary Pinkel era to be enshrined in Mizzou’s Hall of Fame but the first defensive player. The others from the Pinkel years are Brad Smith, Chase Daniel, Chase Coffman, Jeremy Maclin and Danario Alexander.

The others inductees are ...

Mark Ellis (2007-10), the school’s only wrestler to capture a national championship in the heavyweight class. The two-time All-American won his championship in 2009.

Tim Laudner (1976-79), an All-Big Eight catcher who played nine seasons in the Major Leagues, including an All-Star season with the Twins in 1988.

Adrianne Perry (2006-09), a two-time second-team All-American gymnast and the program’s first Big 12 all-around champion.

Dennis Poppe (1967-69), a first-team All-Big Eight safety who later worked in MU’s administration and spent 39 years as an NCAA national staff member.

Rhea Taylor (2008-11), a three-time All-American softball outfielder who led the Tigers to three straight Women’s College World Series appearances.