NFL to select greatest moments as part of 100th season

NEW YORK (AP) — From the Immaculate Reception, already voted the best play in NFL history, to the Dolphins’ perfect season that has been selected as the all-time top team, the NFL is searching for its greatest moment.

As part of its celebration of the 100th season of play, the league is conducting balloting for its most iconic moment at and is encouraging fans to vote for one of the 32 team nominations.

Voting will determine the top eight AFC and NFC moments until Jan. 9 at midnight EST. That will leave 16 contenders that will be cut to eight across both conferences in voting from Jan. 9 until midnight EST on Jan. 16.

Those eight moments will be reduced to four in balloting from Jan. 16 to midnight EST on Jan. 23. From the final four, fans will choose the No. 1 overall moment in voting from Jan. 23 until noon on Super Bowl Sunday, Feb. 2.

Video clips and text describing each team’s moment will be available when fans vote. The winner will be announced during the Super Bowl pregame show on Fox.

The 32 contenders:


Baltimore Ravens: The Mile High Miracle

Buffalo Bills: The Comeback

Cincinnati Bengals: Jennings Kickoff Return

Cleveland Browns: 1964 NFL Championship

Denver Broncos: Elway’s Helicopter Run

Houston Texans: Watt’s Pick 6

Indianapolis Colts: Jackson’s Interception

Jacksonville Jaguars: Taylor’s 90-Yard Touchdown

Kansas City Chiefs: 65 Toss Power Trap

Los Angeles Chargers: Epic in Miami

Miami Dolphins: The Perfect Season

New England Patriots: 28-3

New York Jets: Super Bowl 3

Oakland Raiders: Marcus Allen’s Reverse Run

Pittsburgh Steelers: The Immaculate Reception

Tennessee Titans: Music City Miracle


Arizona Cardinals: Fitz To The Post

Atlanta Falcons: 2016 NFC Championship

Carolina Panthers: Smith’s Game-Winning TD

Chicago Bears: Bears Super Bowl 20

Dallas Cowboys: Hail Mary

Detroit Lions: Thanksgiving In Detroit

Green Bay Packers: The Ice Bowl

Los Angeles Rams: The Tackle

Minnesota Vikings: The Minneapolis Miracle

New Orleans Saints: Porter’s Pick-6

New York Giants: The Helmet Catch

Philadelphia Eagles: Philly Special

San Francisco 49ers: The Catch

Seattle Seahawks: Beastquake

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Barber’s Pick-6

Washington Redskins: Riggo’s Run


More AP NFL: and