Related topics

Former speaker elected to again lead Ohio House

January 7, 2019 GMT

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — A divided Ohio House has chosen state Rep. Larry Householder as speaker, ending a months-long, contentious fight over the leadership position.

Householder was elected House speaker Monday for the second time in his career. The Republican from Perry County received 52 votes to edge out GOP state Rep. Ryan Smith, of Gallia County. A 50-vote majority was needed for election.

Smith was selected in June to fill the leadership position left vacant in the last legislative session when Speaker Cliff Rosenberger resigned in April amid an FBI probe.


Householder was elected on the first day of the new two-year legislative session. Republicans hold majorities in Ohio’s House and Senate.

Republican Larry Obhof (AWB’-hawf), of Medina (meh-DY’-nuh), easily won re-election as president of the Senate on Monday.


This story has been corrected to show that Rosenberger resigned in April, not March.