Related topics

Television Hall of Fame Inducts Seven Honorees

November 13, 1987 GMT

LOS ANGELES (AP) _ The Television Academy Hall of Fame will induct Johnny Carson, Bob Hope, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Leonard Goldenson, Jim Henson, Ernie Kovacs and Eric Sevareid on Sunday.

They will be inducted in ceremonies that will be taped for presentation on the Fox Broadcasting Co. on Nov. 30.

The two-hour show will feature rare and vintage film chronicling the careers of the inductees, as well as tributes from such people as Lucille Ball, Walter Cronkite, Phyllis Diller, Jack Lemon and David Wolper.

The six living inductees will attend with Edie Adams, who will accept for her late husband Ernie Kovacs.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1984 by the Television Academy of Arts & Sciences, has previously inducted 21 people. The academy plans to establish a Hall of Fame Plaza in 1989 at headquarters to open in North Hollywood. Bronze sculptures and memorabilia will be on display.

The is the first year the Hall of Fame show will be on Fox, which obtained rights to the Emmy Awards show and the Hall of Fame show in a three-year deal with the Academy.