Related topics

Why is Good Friday a state holiday?

April 18, 2019 GMT

While most people will be working on Good Friday, it’s a holiday for state employees.

State offices and courts will be closed.

Connecticut is one of 12 states that recognize Good Friday as holiday. The others are Texas, Delaware, Hawaii, Indiana, Tennessee, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, New Jersey, North Carolina and North Dakota.

How did Good Friday - a major Christian holiday - become a state holiday?

In 2009, the state Legislature asked that same question.

In a report by Chief Legislative Analyst Kristin Sullivan, it was found “Either the governor or the law may designate a legal state holiday. The governor designates Good Friday and it appears this has been the case for over 100 years. Thus, we cannot provide a legislative history on a law designating Good Friday.”


“We searched the State Register and Manual and found that since at least 1906, Connecticut governors have so designated Good Friday. They have also designated Thanksgiving Day. The law currently designates as legal holidays New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, Lincoln’s Birthday, Washington’s Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, and Christmas.”