Frost & Husker football players receive honors

December 6, 2018 GMT

The Nebraska football team announced its team award winners Tuesday, including three awards that will be formally presented at the Outland Trophy Banquet in Omaha on Jan. 9.

Stanley Morgan Jr., Devine Ozigbo and Mick Stoltenberg are the recipients of three prestigious senior awards, capturing the Guy Chamberlin Trophy, Tom Novak Award and Cletus Fischer Native Son Award, respectively. Junior linebacker Mohamed Barry was chosen as the Defensive MVP for the Huskers after leading the defense with 112 tackles this season. Senior linebacker Luke Gifford won the Pat Clare Award for his perseverance and determination to overcome injuries during his Nebraska career. Senior receiver Bryan Reimers received The Cornhusker award, presented to a walk-on who made a big impact in their final season at Nebraska. In other Husker football news, Morgan was the Huskers’ lone representative on the Associated Press All-Big Ten team released today. He was a second-team selection. Head Coach and national championship quarterback Scott Frost is among a group of five 2018 inductees into the Orange Bowl Hall of Fame. Frost and the rest of the 2018 class will be honored at events surrounding the Capital One Orange Bowl. Frost quarterbacked Nebraska to a pair of Orange Bowl victories following the 1996 and 1997 seasons.