6 ex-Cyclones will be inducted into Iowa St Hall of Fame

March 8, 2022 GMT

AMES, Iowa (AP) — Six former athletes representing five sports will be inducted into the Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame in September, the school announced Tuesday.

The induction ceremony will be Sept. 23 at the Sukup End Zone Club in Ames, and the six will be honored at halftime of the football game against Baylor the next day.

Athletes must be 10 years removed from their final season of competition at Iowa State to be eligible. The Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame was established in 1997 with a yearly class of inductees except for 2021 due to COVID-19 restrictions. A total of 199 ex-Cyclones have been honored.

The 2022 inductees are Reggie Hayward (1997-2000), three-time All-Big 12 defensive end who played nine years in the NFL; Joe Heskett (1999-2002), national champion wrestler and three-time NCAA finalist; Allison Lacey (2007-10), three-time All-Big 12 women’s basketball player; Ashley Mass (2007-10), first-team All-America volleyball player; Dean Uthoff (1977-1980), first-team All-Big Eight in men’s basketball and conference’s career rebounding leader; and Bill Weeks (1948-50), two-time first-team All-Big Seven quarterback.