Semifinalists named for Kentucky Teacher of the Year award

August 5, 2022 GMT

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) — Semifinalists for the Kentucky Teacher of the Year award have been announced.

Eleven teachers are contending in the elementary, middle and high school categories. One of the teachers will be selected as Teacher of the Year. A ceremony to announce the winners is scheduled for Sept. 20.

The Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline Inc. announced the elementary school semifinalists are Rebecca Brewer of Norton Commons Elementary School in Jefferson County, Kelly Gates of Pride Elementary School in Hopkins County and Amber Hays of Thelma B. Johnson Early Learning Center in Henderson County.

Middle school semifinalists are Caitlin Buckley of Kentucky School for the Deaf, Nathaniel Green of Newport High School, Danielle Hicks of Clinton County Middle School and Mandy Perez of Crittenden County Middle School.

High school semifinalists are Cathy Conley of Knott County Central High, Robin Kemp of Highlands High, Lauren Niemann of Fern Creek High in Jefferson County and Amber L. Sergent of Woodford County High.

The 11 semifinalists are among 24 educators who were named Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award winners in July.