GHC’s PTK earns numerous honors

March 25, 2017 GMT

Georgia Highlands College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter brought home more honors than any other college in attendance at the All-Georgia Academic Team Awards luncheon in Atlanta.

Mykayla Jeter, from the Paulding site, was selected as a Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar, winning a $1,500 scholarship, and Mary-Kate Billings and Elle Summers, each from the Cartersville site, were both selected as Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze scholars, winning a $1,000 scholarship each.

Only 50 students from across the nation are chosen as Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold, Silver or Bronze scholars each year.

Six PTK officers and members were selected to GHC’s All-Academic Team at the luncheon, as well. Those students are: Jeter, Bryce Pitts, both from the Floyd County campus; Billings, Summers, and Amanda Lewis, from the Cartersville site; and Lacey Turner, from the Douglasville site.

In addition to these honors, GHC’s PTK also served as the 2016-2017 Regional Presidential Chapter and hosted the PTK Regional Spring Conference this month.


The team earned multiple awards and top regional honors: the Distinguished Officer Award and the Hall of Honor Award went to Jeter; the Sarah Anne Staples Award was given to Bryce Pitts; Billings took home the Janet Walker award; and Assistant Professor Karen Huggin was recognized as this year’s Distinguished Advisor. Together, the team brought home the Distinguished Officer Team Award, Distinguished Honors in Action Theme Award, Distinguished Honors in Action Award overall, Distinguished College Project Award and the Distinguished Top Regional Chapter Award. This is the second year in a row the chapter was honored with the Distinguished Top Regional Chapter Award.

The chapter also won two scholarships to the Honors Institute this summer at Loyola University in Chicago and was additionally elected for another regional office of secretary for 2017-2018.

The GHC All-Academic Team and Gold and Bronze scholars will be honored again at GHC’s Honors Night on April 20.