Houston Association of Realtors: 2017 leadership team takes oath of office at Dec. 7 ceremony

December 23, 2016 GMT

Realtor Celebration, the Houston Association of Realtors’ biggest event of the year, took place Dec. 7 at the River Oaks Country Club, and featured the swearing-in of the 2017 HAR board of directors and incoming chair, Cindy Hamann of Heritage Texas Properties.

Texas Sen. John Whitmire administered the oath of office for the new board members while Robin Mueck, broker/owner, chairman and CEO of Heritage Texas Properties, swore in Hamann. Houston Mayor Pro Tem Ellen Cohen presented a City of Houston proclamation to Hamann, announcing that Dec. 7 had been named “Cindy Hamann Day.”

Along with Hamann, the 2017 HAR Executive Committee is comprised of chair-elect Kenya Burrell; vice chairs Shannon Cobb Evans and John Nugent; secretary/treasurer Richard Miranda; and immediate past chairman Mario Arriaga.


Serving as members of HAR’s 2017 governing body are David Atkins, Dianna Ayers, Christi Borden, Michael Clapp, Linda Cottar, Wanda Devereaux, Jennifer Duguay, Mike Mahlstedt, Richard Miranda, Ronnie Miranda, Dovie Morgan, Thomas Mouton, Veronica Mullenix, John Nichols, Ignacio Osorio, Shannon Register, Deborah Spangler and Jennifer Wauhob.

Realtor Celebration also honored two outstanding Houston-area real estate professionals for their exceptional dedication and community stewardship. Ward Arendt, with Arendt Realty, was honored as 2016 Realtor of the Year, and Bill Baldwin, broker-owner of Boulevard Realty, received the 2016 John E. Wolf Community Service Award.

Bob Hale, HAR’s president and CEO, saluted outgoing HAR chairman Mario Arriaga for his commitment to the association and the real estate industry throughout 2016.

Arriaga narrated a retrospective about his year of service featuring slides from events he attended around the country on behalf of HAR.

Guests were also treated to a video about Hamann’s personal and professional journey, culminating with her career as a Realtor and, beginning Jan. 1, chair of the 36,000-member HAR.