4 nominees are confirmed to education boards in Mississippi

February 9, 2021 GMT

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — The Mississippi Senate on Tuesday confirmed three people to the state Board of Education and one to the state Charter School Authorizer Board.

Former Madison County Schools Superintendent Ronnie McGehee of Madison was nominated to the nine-member Board of Education by Lt. Gov. Delbert Hosemann. McGehee is executive director of the Mississippi Association of School Administrators and Mississippi Association of Secondary School Principals. His term on the board will expire June 30, 2028.

Gulfport School District Superintendent Glen East of Gulfport was nominated to the state Board of Education by Gov. Tate Reeves. East’s term will expire June 30, 2023.


Angela Bass of Jackson was also nominated by Reeves to the state Board of Education for a term that ends June 30, 2025. Bass has worked as a teacher and is executive director of the Mississippi Early Learning Alliance.

Kimberly Remak of Olive Branch was nominated to the six-member Charter School Authorizer Board by Hosemann. Her term will end in August 2022. Remak is a nurse with 25 years’ experience and serves on the Mississippi State ABLE Board, which helps people with disabilities.

Three seats on the state Board of Education are vacant. One member of the charter school board recently died.