Names of troopers involved in Claremont shooting released

April 20, 2021 GMT

CLAREMONT, N.H. (AP) — The New Hampshire attorney general’s office has released the names of the six state troopers who discharged their weapons during a fatal police shooting in Claremont last month.

Jeffrey Ely, 40, who barricaded himself in a Claremont building, died March 21 during an exchange of gunfire with police, the attorney general’s office has said.

A state police SWAT team had been called to the building, which is described in real estate listings as an industrial warehouse property. An autopsy determined that Ely died of multiple gunshot wounds to the head, neck, arms, legs and torso.

The circumstances of the shooting are still under investigation.

The troopers who fire their weapons are: Trooper First Class Nicholas Cyr who has been a New Hampshire state trooper since 2005; Trooper First Class Stefan Czyzowski, a trooper since 2006; Sergeant Gary Ingham, a trooper since 2003; Trooper First Class Shane Larkin; a trooper since 2002; Trooper William Neilsen, a trooper since 2012; and Trooper Noah Sanctuary, a trooper since 2016.