Alabama NAACP names 4 to new hall of honor

October 21, 2020 GMT

ATHENS, Ala. (AP) — The Alabama NAACP is honoring four people as the initial members of the Alabama NAACP Hall of Honor including civil rights lawyer Fred Gray Sr., who once fought for the right of the organization to operate in the state.

Gray, of Tuskegee, assisted the organization for years after then-Gov. John Patterson attempted to have it barred from operating in the state in 1956 as the civil rights movement was gaining steam. Gray also represented the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. and Rosa Parks, who sparked the Montgomery Bus Boycott in 1955.

Other honorees include Della M. Bryant, who led the Montgomery NAACP branch; Frank Travis, who advocated for education for Blacks in Limestone County; and Mary Walker, who served as the unofficial NAACP historian in Mobile.


The names of the new inductees will be inscribed on a wall at Talladega College, the site of the first NAACP branch in Alabama.