W-B Chamber Announces 2019 EPIC Honorees

April 25, 2019 GMT

The Greater Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Commerce has announced the honorees for the 2019 EPIC (Extraordinary People Inspiring Community) Awards, which will be presented by Wells Fargo 5 to 7:30 June 11 at the Wyoming Seminary Kirby Center for the Creative Arts in Kingston.

The chamber will present the ATHENA Award, sponsored by Riggs Asset Management, to Tara Mugford Wilson, president at the Power Engineering Corporation.

Wilson is co-chair of the United Way campaign as well as a member of the board of directors, past and current chair of the Greater Wilkes-Barre Development Corporation Board, member of the Greater Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Business and Industry/Growth Partnership Board, Appleseed Foundation, Geisinger Wilkes-Barre Advisory Board, Circle 200, Luzerne Foundation and The Institute for Economic Development and Public Policy. She is a past member of the Penn State Wilkes-Barre board, Diocese of Scranton Catholic Social Services Board and American Cancer Society of NEPA.


The Innovator the Year Award, sponsored by Penn State Wilkes-Barre, will be presented to Dr. Pugazhendhi Vijayaraman, the regional director of Cardiac Electrophysiology at Geisinger Northeast and the program director of Geisinger Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship Program.

The Volunteer of Year Award will be presented to Cathy Fields McHugh, vice president of Fields Enterprise, Inc. She is a member of the Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Commerce and the First Presbyterian Church in Wilkes-Barre. She also serves on multiple committees for Dress for Success as a board member, Jewish Community Center, King’s College, Luzerne/Lackawanna County Medical Society, Maternal Family and Health Services, North Branch Land Trust, Northeast Sight Services, Osterhout Library, Rich Soil/Carrie Flower and Wyoming Seminary.

The President’s Achievement Award will be presented to Dr. Patrick Leahy, president of Wilkes University, to recognize his long-standing impact on the local community.

The chamber also will present four Community Celebration Awards, sponsored by Geisinger, to The City of Wilkes-Barre, for its 250th year and to the Luzerne Foundation, North Branch Land Trust and The Allan P. Kirby Center for Free Enterprise and Entrepreneurship at Wilkes University — all for their 25th anniversaries.

Tickets are $50 per person and can be purchased at www.wilkes-barre.org/events or by calling 570-823-2101.