MSUB faculty honored for excellence

April 8, 2018 GMT

Montana State University Billings honored a group of outstanding faculty members during the Faculty Excellence Awards ceremony in March. Accomplishments in teaching, scholarship, engagement, service and other contributions outside the classroom were specially recognized.

Those nominated by students, fellow faculty members, deans, and others were Dr. Joy Honea, professor of sociology; Dr. Sougata Das, assistant professor of finance; David Blair, adjunct professor of educational theory and practice; Lance Mouser, instructor of general education and math; Bruce Brumley, instructor of computer technology; Christopher Craig, Ph.D., assistant professor of management; Dr. Susan Gilbertz, professor of geography and adviser to environmental studies; Dr. Heather Thompson-Bahm, instructor of business and human resources at City College; Michele McMullen, lecturer of biological and physical sciences; and Dr. Rachael Waller, associate professor of literacy education.


Dr. Jennifer Lynn, associate professor of history, received two awards, the MCIE Award for Support of Students with Disabilities and the Dr. Tasneem Khaleel Award for Mentoring Young Female Professionals.

The Walter and Charlotte Pippenger Excellence in Innovation Award was given to Allison Bailey, writing instructor; Anne Cole, reading instructor; Eric Gilbertsen, math instructor; Andrea Payne, math instructor; and Chairsty Stewart, math and writing instructor.

The award was established in 2005 by Richard and Cheri Cox, their sons Shaun and Scott Cox, and the members of the Cox family in honor of Cheri’s parents. It has been awarded each year to an individual or group whose projects, efforts and programs show significant development in the undergraduate teaching and learning experience.

Dr. Melissa Boehm, assistant professor of communication and theatre, was presented with the Winston and Helen Cox Fellowship Award. Established in 1988, the endowment recognizes outstanding junior faculty members in the College of Arts and Sciences.