Bobby Rahal to be honored for motorsports contributions

April 25, 2019 GMT

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (AP) — Three-time CART champion Bobby Rahal will be honored with the Cameron R. Argetsinger Award for his contributions to motorsports.

Rahal won the 1986 Indianapolis 500 and now is a co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in the IndyCar Series.

Rahal also raced in Formula One and IMSA. He won 24 times in CART and captured the 1981 24 Hours of Daytona and 1987 12 Hours of Sebring endurance races.

He will receive the award from the International Motor Racing Research Center on June 27 at the Corning Museum of Glass. Cameron R. Argetsinger was founder and organizer of the first road races at Watkins Glen.


Previous honorees include Chip Ganassi, Richard Petty, Roger Penske, Mario Andretti, and Jim France and the France family.

Rahal helped bring Honda into North American open-wheel racing in the early 1990s. After retiring from driving in 1998, he joined Jaguar’s F1 effort, then returned to the U.S. in 2002 to be the interim boss of CART.

His current IndyCar team is in its 28th year and has 27 wins, including the 2004 Indy 500 with Buddy Rice.


More AP auto racing: and