Caledonia’s King is Minnesota AP Player of Year

December 22, 2017 GMT

MINNEAPOLIS — Caledonia quarterback Owen King is the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year for high school football in 2017.

The award, as voted on by a statewide panel of preps writers and broadcasters, was announced Wednesday along with The AP’s all-state team.

Owatonna running back Jason Williamson joined King and 24 others on the all-state first team.

Seven from southeastern Minnesota were on the 26-member second team. They were: Zach Myhre (RB, Grand Meadow); Jordan Burg (WR/TE, Caledonia); Jacob Paulson (WR/TE, Rushford-Peterson);

Conner McKern (OL, Kasson-Mantorville); Mitchell Oswald (DL. Blooming Prairie); Mason Staggemeyer (LB, Caledonia); and Zach Mensink (LB, Owatonna).

The third team included Andrew Goergen, (WR/TE, Caledonia); Nick Waldo (OL, Winona); Ryan Schoenfelder (DL, Goodhue); Zachary Jakes (DL, Mankato West) and Alex Folz (All-purpose, Spring Grove.


King helped lead the Warriors to the Class AA championship, tying a Prep Bowl record with six total touchdowns in a 57-6 victory over Pipestone on Nov. 24. He never lost a game in three seasons as Caledonia’s starting quarterback, going 41-0 while leading the Warriors to the state title each time.

For his career, he passed for 8,158 yards and 137 touchdowns.

King edged out Eden Prairie linebacker Antonio Montero for the honor.

Minnesota AP Football Player of the Year award winners

Recent winners of the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for prep football:

2017 — Owen King, QB, Caledonia

2016 — Noah Carlson, RB, Rushford-Peterson

2015 — J.D. Spielman, RB, Eden Prairie

2014 — Ryan Schlichte, QB, Mankato West

2013 — Jacques Perra, QB, Roseville

2012 — Bridgeport Tusler, RB, Osseo

2011 — Philip Nelson, QB, Mankato West

2010 — Reggie Gandy, RB, DeLaSalle

2009 — Seantrel Henderson, OL, Cretin-Derham Hall

2008 — James Peterson, QB, Blaine

2007 — Michael Floyd, WR, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 — Michael Floyd, WR, Cretin-Derham Hall

2005 — Jake Machacek, RB, Eastview

2004 — Nick Mertens, QB, East Grand Forks

2003 — Nathan Swift, RB, Hutchinson

2002 — John Majeski, RB, Hastings

2001 — Tyler Evans, RB, McLeod West

2000 — Joe Mauer, QB, Cretin-Derham Hall

1999 — Dominique Sims, DB, DeLaSalle

1998 — Thomas Tapeh, RB, St. Paul Johnson

1997 — Ryan Iversen, LB, Eden Prairie

1996 — Brian Day, RB, Brainerd

1995 — Kirk Midthun, QB, Triton