Related topics

WIAA Board of Control approves three conference realignment plans on the eve of Wednesday’s annual meeting

April 25, 2018 GMT

The WIAA annual meeting is scheduled for Wednesday in Stevens Point.

On the eve of that meeting, the WIAA Board of Control met Tuesday.

The Board of Control approved three conference realignment plans and issued a one-year moratorium on conference realignment requests at its April meeting, according to a WIAA release.

The Board moved to implement a football-only realignment consideration for southwest Wisconsin that was amended at its January meeting and given initial approval in March. The plan impacts seven conferences and 48 schools, and will be in effect beginning in 2019.

In the proposed configuration, six conferences were established.

Mineral Point (199) will be in Conference A (eight schools) with La Crosse Aquinas (enrollment 289), Cuba City (238), Darlington (207), Fennimore (238), Iowa-Grant (172), Lancaster (270) and Onalaska Luther (222).

Conference B (eight schools) includes Dodgeville (421), River Valley (430), Arcadia (361), Platteville (430), Prairie du Chien (365), Richland Center (386), Viroqua (365) and Westby (339).


Conference C (eight schools) includes Wisconsin Dells (421), Adams-Friendship (468), Black River Falls (518), Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau (423), Mauston (507), Nekoosa (354), Wautoma (409) and Westfield (296).

The Board also gave its final approval of a plan that moves Alma/Pepin into the Dairyland Conference for all sports beginning in the fall of 2019 and a proposal that moves St. Croix Falls from the Lakeland Conference to the Heart O’North Conference for only football beginning in the fall of 2019.

In other action related to conference realignment, the Board approved an executive staff recommendation to place a one-year moratorium on conference realignment with the exception of requests that receive the complete support of all schools impacted by the plan. During the suspension of requests, the membership and executive staff will collaborate on a different and viable process to address school placement in conferences.

The Board ratified an agreement with The Appleton Baseball Club, Inc., that extends the use of Fox Cities Stadium for the state spring baseball tournament through 2028. Fox Cities Stadium has been home to the state tournament since 1998.

The Board also approved new and renewed cooperative programs for the 2018-19 and 2019-20 winter sport seasons except in the sports of hockey and gymnastics, which were granted for one year only.

Executive staff reports included discussions on Wednesday’s Annual Meeting, the 2018 Scholar Athlete ceremony, the NFHS Legal and National Sports Medicine Summits and a review of the winter tournament series. The Board also received liaison updates from Mike Thompson of the Department of Public Instruction, John Ashley of the Wisconsin Association of School Boards and Jeremy Schlitz of the Wisconsin Athletic Directors Association. Schlitz is Madison Memorial’s athletic director and the athletic director for the Madison school district.