Wisconsin Badgers’ Linus Weissbach, Wyatt Kalynuk named to Big Ten’s all-freshman team

March 15, 2018 GMT

The University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team had two players selected to a league all-freshman team for the first time in eight years.

Forward Linus Weissbach and defenseman Wyatt Kalynuk were named Tuesday to the Big Ten Conference’s 2017-18 all-freshman team.

Kalynuk tied conference freshman of the year Mitchell Lewandowski of Michigan State for the league lead with 18 points in 24 Big Ten games.

Weissbach was one point back at 17.

They joined Lewandowski, Minnesota forward Casey Mittelstadt, Michigan defenseman Quinn Hughes and Ohio State goalie Tommy Nappier on the all-freshman team.


Kalynuk led defensemen with 15 assists in Big Ten games. He had three goals and 22 assists in 37 regular-season contests.

Weissbach started his collegiate career with a two-goal game on Oct. 1 and finished his freshman season with 10 goals and 16 assists in 34 games.

It was the sixth time that UW had multiple players on an all-rookie team. The first five came in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, which started recognizing the award in the 1990-91 season.

Weissbach and Kalynuk joined forward Dany Heatley and defenseman Brian Fahey (1999-2000), defenseman Ryan Suter and forward Robbie Earl (2003-04), forward Joe Pavelski and defenseman Kyle Klubertanz (2004-05), forward Kyle Turris and defenseman Ryan McDonagh (2007-08) and defenseman Justin Schultz and forward Craig Smith (2009-10).

Notre Dame’s Cale Morris was named both the league’s player and goalie of the year. Penn State’s Trevor Hamilton was the defensive player of the year, and Ohio State’s Steve Rohlik, a former UW player, was the coach of the year.

The all-league first team consisted of forwards Cooper Marody of Michigan, Jake Evans of Notre Dame and Tanner Laczynski of Ohio State; defensemen Jordan Gross of Notre Dame and Hamilton; and goalie Morris.

The second team had forwards Tony Calderone of Michigan; Taro Hirose of Michigan State and Mason Jobst of Ohio State; defensemen Hughes of Michigan and Sasha Larocque of Ohio State; and goalie Sean Romeo of Ohio State.

Badgers forward Trent Frederic and defensemen Kalynuk and Peter Tischke were named honorable mention all-league performers.

Defenseman Tim Davison was the Badgers’ sportsmanship award honoree.

Voting was conducted by league coaches and media members.