Miranda Lambert makes history at ACM Awards

April 16, 2018 GMT

Miranda Lambert made history at the American Country Music (ACM) Awards on Sunday (15.04.18).

The 34-year-old musician put herself firmly in the history books at the glitzy award ceremony at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, after she picked up two gongs - for Female Vocalist of the Year and Song of the Year for her hit ‘Tin Man’ - and became the most decorated artist in ACM history, with a whopping 31 wins to her name.

Speaking after her win for Female Vocalist of the Year: “I cannot believe this. I really can’t. Thank you so much. I love country music. It is my entire life. I dedicate everything I have to it and for y’all to care so much about what I’m doing, I will never, ever take it for granted. Thank you so, so much. Praise Jesus, thank y’all.”

Miranda was one of three winners to pick up two awards on the night, with Chris Stapleton taking home the trophies for Male Vocalist of the Year and Album of the Year for ‘From A Room Vol. 1’, and Brothers Osbourne snatching up Vocal Duo of the Year and Video of the Year for ‘It Ain’t My Fault’.

The award ceremony also saw Jason Aldean win Entertainer of the Year for the third year in a row, which he noted came after a “rough year” after he was the artist on stage at the Route 91 Harvest Festival in Las Vegas last year, when a gunman opened fire on the crowd.

In his acceptance speech, he said: “It’s been a rough year and I just want to say thank you to everybody that reached out to us and showed us love and support over the last six months. It meant the world to us. To my Route 91 people, you guys are in my hearts, always. I love you guys and we love Las Vegas. Vegas strong, baby.”

ACM Awards 2018 winners:

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year

Chris Stapleton

Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osbourne

Vocal Group of the Year

Old Dominion

New Female Vocalist of the Year

Lauren Alaina

New Male Vocalist of the Year

Brett Young

New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year


Album of the Year

‘From A Room Vol. 1’ - Chris Stapleton

Single Record of the Year

‘Body Like A Back Road’ - Sam Hunt

Song of the Year

‘Tin Man’ - Miranda Lambert

Video of the Year

‘It Ain’t My Fault’ - Brothers Osbourne

Songwriter of the Year

Rhett Atkins

Vocal Event of the Year

‘The Fighter’ - Keith Urban featuring Carrie Underwood