ISU MBB: Bengals left off Big Sky All-Conference list

March 7, 2017

The Idaho State Bengals, including Ethan Telfair, were left off the Big Sky All-Conference list, released Monday.

Telfair, the Bengals’ point guard, was named to the preseason all-conference team. The senior averaged 16.8 points per game and was 33.6 percent from the field. He also contributed 4.8 assists and 4.1 rebounds per game.

Eastern Washington senior Jacob Wiley headlined this year’s Big Sky All-Conference team as the league’s Most Valuable Player and a first-team selection.

Wiley, a Newport Wash., native, led the Big Sky in rebounding (9.2/game) and leads the nation in blocked shots at 2.27. Wiley averaged nearly a double-double this season with 20.0 points per game. Wiley and teammate, second-teamer Bogdan Bliznyuk, were the top scoring duo in the Big Sky with a combined average of 40.1 points per game. Wiley’s 86 blocks is third in the Big Sky’s single-season rankings.

Southern Utah’s Randy Onwuasor picked up this season’s Top Newcomer award and second team honors after leading the conference in scoring at 22.8 points per game. He also ranked in the top 10 in rebounding, assists and steals.

Montana State’s Harald Frey picked up freshman of the year and third-team honors. The Oslo, Norway native was the league’s top rookie in scoring at 12.5 points per game and assists at 3.3 per game.

Northern Colorado’s Jonah Radebaugh was the league’s defensive player of the year, while North Dakota’s Cortez Seales picked up the Top Reserve award.

Wiley was a unanimous first-team selection along with Montana State’s Tyler Hall and North Dakota’s Quinton Hooker. Hooker and Weber State’s Jeremy Senglin picked up their second straight First Team honors. Rounding out the First Team was Idaho junior, Victor Sanders.

Joining Bliznyuk and Onwuasor on the second team was North Dakota’s Geno Crandall, Montana’s Ahmaad Rorie, and Sacramento State’s Justin Strings. This year the Big Sky instituted a third-team which was headlined by Frey along with Northern Colorado’s Jordan Davis, Northern Arizona’s Jordyn Martin, Portland State’s De’Sean Parsons, and Montana’s Michael Oguine.

The Big Sky Conference men’s basketball championship begins on Tuesday with Northern Arizona and Portland State tipping off at 3:35 p.m. Idaho State faces Sacramento State at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday.