Heightened drought warning issued for Cayuga County

August 3, 2016

Gov. Andrew Cuomo directed the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) to issue a heightened drought warning for most of western and central New York Wednesday, including Cayuga County.

In a press release, Cuomo said much of the western region continues to experience “significant drought conditions” and asked residents to conserve water during the coming months.

DEC Commissioner Basil Seggos issued a drought warning for western state drought regions VI, VII and VII, which includes the following counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Jefferson, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Seneca, Schuyler, Steuben, Tompkins, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates. The rest of the state remains under a drought watch.

A warning is the second of four levels of state drought advisories: watch, warning, emergency and disaster. While there are no statewide mandatory water use restrictions under a drought watch or warning, people are strongly encouraged to voluntarily conserve water.

“Minor changes in everyday practices can go a long way in helping to prevent any increased drought levels,” Seggos said.

The governor reported some water conservation tips for homeowners, such as fixing any dripping or leaking faucets and toilets, watering lawns and gardens on alternate mornings and raising a lawn mower’s cutting height because longer grass needs less water. For more water saving tips, visit www.dec.ny.gov/lands/5009.html.