Jefferson-Jenkins, Madison named Freedom Summer honorees

March 3, 2020 GMT

OXFORD, Ohio (AP) — A former president of the League of Women Voters and a satellite radio host have been announced as this year’s Freedom of Summer ’64 awardees.

Carolyn Jefferson-Jenkins and Joe Madison of “The Joe Madison Show” will be award by Miami University, WVXU-FM reported Monday.

The award was created in 2017 to honor those who further civil rights and social justice.

“The whole purpose ... is to honor the memory of those who did this and to stir up folks to commit themselves to voting and participating in the process,” said Ronald Scott, vice president for institutional diversity and inclusion at Miami University.

Jefferson-Jenkins was the 15th president of the League of Women Voters and the first African American to hold the position.

Madison set the Guinness World Record for the longest on-air broadcast, 52 hours, in 2015 and raised $250,000 for the National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Jefferson-Jenkins will be honored March 12, and Madison will be honored June 23.