Related topics

Lamar University To Join Southland Conference

August 23, 1996 GMT

BEAUMONT, Texas (AP) _ Lamar University has accepted an invitation to rejoin the Southland Conference, nine years after it left.

The Southland had asked Lamar to return because of its long history with the Dallas-based league and its proximity to other schools in the conference.

``As a charter member, Lamar University is an important part of Southland Conference history,″ commissioner Greg Sankey said Friday in announcing the school’s decision.

Lamar joined the Southland in 1963 after spending 12 years in the Lone Star Conference. The Cardinals won six outright Southland basketball titles and shared two others.


Lamar left the Southland in 1987, seeking a stronger basketball league. It became a member of the American South Conference before moving to the Sun Belt Conference in 1990.

A date for Lamar to join the Southland has not yet been determined, conference spokesman Tommy Newsom said.

The Cardinals would need a waiver of Sun Belt by-laws to leave that league before the fall of 1998.

Lamar becomes the latest university to announce it was joining the Southland. Earlier this week, Southeastern Louisiana University said it would switch from the Trans America Athletic Conference to the Southland in July 1997.

Five Texas schools _ Stephen F. Austin, Texas-Arlington, Texas-San Antonio, Sam Houston State and Southwest Texas State _ and four Louisiana schools _ McNeese State, Nicholls State, Northeast Louisiana and Northwestern Louisiana State _ compete in all sports in the Southland Conference.