Click to copy
Click to copy

Blankmeyer part of ABCA Hall of Fame class

July 18, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Ed Blankmeyer, the winningest baseball coach in St. John’s University history, has been selected as a member of 2018 American Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

The 11-man class was announced Tuesday. Also being inducted are: Hill Denson, Belhaven University; Don Freeman, Prairie (Wash.) High School; Jim Gilligan, Lamar University; Tim Hill, Sr., State College of Florida; Bobby Howard, Columbus (Ga.) High School; Andy Lopez, University of Arizona; Stan Luketich, Desert Vista (Ariz.) High School; Pat McMahon, New York Yankees; Frank Permuy, Gaither (Fla.) High School; and John Schaly, Ashland University.

Blankmeyer, the third coach at St. John’s since 1956, joins his predecessors in the Hall of Fame: Jack Kaiser (1979) and Joe Russo (1997).

Having just completed his 22nd season with the Red Storm, he has a career record of 758-460-4 (.620). He has guided the Red Storm to four Big East Tournament titles as well as five Big East regular season titles. He has led the squad to the NCAA Tournament 10 times, including the program’s only NCAA Super Regional appearance in 2012.

A graduate of Seton Hall, Blankmeyer has earned Big East Coach of the Year honors a conference-record seven times.

The induction will be held Jan. 5, 2018, at the organization’s convention in Indianapolis.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.