Illinois primary election to unfold Tuesday

March 19, 2018 GMT

The Illinois Primary election is set for Tuesday.

Polls will be open throughout the state from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. The most high-profile races are for governor among both Democrats and Republicans.

There are six Democrats vying for their party’s nomination, with J.B. Pritzker, Chris Kennedy and Daniel Biss generally viewed as the candidates with the best chance to advance.

Incumbent Gov. Bruce Rauner is facing a challenge from state Rep. Jeanne Ives in the Republican primary. Whoever wins will face the Democratic candidate in the Nov. 6 general election.

Both parties also have contested races for attorney general as the current officeholder, Lisa Madigan, is not running for another term. There are eight candidates among the Democrats, most notably former Gov. Pat Quinn and current state Sen. Kwame Raoul. There are two Republican candidates, Erika Harold and Gary Grasso.

There also are competitive races in Illinois Congressional District 2, the district which serves all of Kankakee County, and Illinois Congressional District 16, which serves Iroquois County.

Among the Democrats in District 2, incumbent Robin Kelly is being challenged by Marcus Lewis. There are three candidates on the Republican side, Bourbonnais resident David Merkle, John F. Morrow and Patrick Harmon.

Republican U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger is the incumbent in District 16, and he is being challenged by Jim Marter for the party nomination. There are four candidates entered in the District 16 Democratic primary. They are Neill Muhammad, Sara Dady, Beth Vercocio-Osmund and Amy “Murri’’ Briel.

Local contested races are rather sparse on the primary ballot. Barbara Wells and Stephen Bauman are seeking the Democratic nomination for Kankakee County clerk, and incumbent Republican Jim Vickery is being challenged by Colton Ekhoff for the Kankakee County Board District 2 seat.

In Iroquois County, there is a race on the Republican side for county treasurer. Kurt Albers and Christy (Hoffman) Rink are vying to replace Mindy Kuntz, the current Republican treasurer who is retiring.

There also are four candidates on the Republican ballot for county board District 3. The top three will advance to the general election. The group includes Paul Powers, Vince Lamie, Donna Crow and Joe Young.

The Daily Journal will have coverage of the primary on its website, daily-journal.com, Tuesday night, and additional coverage in the Wednesday print edition.