Democrats tap Rep. James Clyburn House Majority Whip

November 28, 2018

Rep. James E. Clyburn was elected Wednesday as House majority whip in the new Democrat-controlled House, retaining his position as the third highest-ranking Democrat in the lower chamber.

The South Carolinian cruised to reelection in the uncontested race.

Mr. Clyburn’s path to the majority whip cleared earlier this month when Rep. Diana DeGette of Colorado pulled the plug on a short-lived bid for the job.

First winning election to Congress in 1992, Mr. Clyburn made history as the first black member of the congressional delegation from South Carolina in nearly 100 years.

“As the only Member of elected Leadership from a red state and largely rural district, I will work tirelessly to be a voice for the millions of Americans who feel left out and communities that are too often left behind,” Mr. Clyburn said in a statement.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.