Pee Dee to have mid-term elections

December 30, 2017 GMT

FLORENCE, S.C. – As 2018 builds steam, so will candidates campaigning across South Carolina for mid-term elections.

Voters in the Pee Dee can expect elections in congressional districts, state House of Representative seats and an array of statewide positions.

A round of partisan primary voting will happen on June 12, and if any runoffs for seats should be necessary, those will happen on June 26.

The general election will happen on Nov. 6. Filing for candidates opens at noon on March 16 and closes at noon on March 30.


Congressional District 6, which is held by Democratic Rep. James Clyburn and covers much of the state’s Lowcountry, is up for election in 2018.

Congressional District 7, which is held by Republican Rep. Tom Rice and covers the Pee Dee and Grand Strand regions, will be on the ballots in this area.


The highest-profile race in the state will be the race for the governor and lieutenant governor’s spot; the first election in which the two will run on the same ticket.

Gov. Henry McMaster has said he will run to retain the position. Former state Health Department director Catherine Templeton, current Lt. Gov. Kevin Bryant and former Lt. Gov. Yancey McGill have also said they will run for governor in 2018.

There will also be statewide elections for the state’s adjutant general, agriculture commissioner, attorney general, comptroller general, secretary of state, superintendent of education and treasurer.


There are 10 seats up for election in the state’s House of Representatives that will affect the Pee Dee:

House District 57, held by Democratic Rep. Frank “Lucas” Atkinson of Marion.House District 59, held by Democratic Rep. Terry Alexander of Florence.House District 60, held by Republican Rep. Phillip Lowe of Florence.House District 61, held by Democratic Rep. Roger Kirby of Lake City.House District 62, held by Democratic Rep. Robert Williams of Darlington.House District 63, held by Republican Rep. Jay Jordan.House District 65, held by Republican House Speaker Jay Lucas of Hartsville.House District 101, held by Democratic Rep. Cezar McKnight of Kingstree.

Florence County Council

A majority of Florence’s county council will be up for election in 2018 as well. Council Districts 1, 3, 6, 7 and 8 will be on a 2018 ballot.

District 1 is held by Lake City’s Jason Springs. District 3 is held by Florence’s Alphonso Bradley. District 6 is held by Florence’s H. Steven DeBerry IV. District 7 is held by Florence’s Rev. Waymond Mumford. District 8 is held by Florence’s James Schofield.

Florence City Council

Several seats on the Florence City Council also are up for election this year.

Council districts 1 and 2 will be on a ballot, as will an at-large seat.

District 1 is held by Teresa Meyers-Ervin, District 2 is held by Pat Gibson Hye Moore, and the at-large seat is held by George Jebaily.

None of the candidates have indicated whether they’ll seek re-election in 2018.

There also will be elections for smaller municipalities and school districts throughout the Pee Dee region.