Names and notes for May 26

May 27, 2018 GMT

Hardison joins Rural Health Services

Dr. Andrew Hardison has joined Rural Health Services Clyburn Center for Primary Care as the newest member.

He was raised and educated in South Carolina where he attended the South Carolina Governor’s School and graduated from The Citadel with honors. Upon graduation, he worked in textile mills in different communities in the Upstate, which helped him decide to return to school to earn a professional healthcare degree that would enable him to help others as a primary eye care provider.

Hardison currently provides comprehensive eye care at RHS Clyburn Center for Primary Care for all patients ranging from infants to senior adults, including wellness exams, vision requirements, contact lens, glaucoma and retinal treatment and management, hypertensive and diabetic eye exams.

Area students make merit list

Wendy Mayes Bates and Melissa Diane McElhaney were named to the merit list for the 2018 spring semester at Brenau University.

Williams named to dean’s list

Destiny Williams, of Aiken, was named to the dean’s list at Brevard College for the 2018 spring semester.

Area students named to dean’s list

Camille Heinz, Katherine Taylor and Rachel Butler were named to the dean’s list for the 2018 spring semester at Bob Jones University.

Area students graduate Citadel

Approximately 500 members of the South Carolina Corps of Cadets accepted diplomas during The Citadel’s commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 5, in McAlister Field House.

The following local students were among the graduating class: Thomas Griffith of Aiken, a Bachelor of Science in exercise science; William Caughman of Salley, a Bachelor of Science in civil engineering;

Matthew Loveland of Aiken, Bachelor of Arts in history; Christian Romero of Warrenville, a Bachelor of Arts in criminal justice; and William Hartzog of Williston, a Bachelor of Science in exercise science.

USCA Faculty receive research funding

Several University of South Carolina Aiken faculty have been awarded funding from the Advanced Support for Innovative Research Excellence – or ASPIRE – program.

The following faculty earned grants: Dr. Paul Titan: Nanoparticles Size Effect on Thermophysical Properties of Ionic Liquids Based Nanofluids; Dr. Julie Wise: Lyric Form and Temporality in Michael Field’s Underneath the Bough; Dr. Virginia Shervette: Application of the Bomb Radiocarbon Chronometer for Validating Age Estimates of Queen Snapper, a Data-poor Caribbean Fisheries Species;

Dr. Anne Ellison, working with Dr. Alexandra Roach, Dr. Laura Swain, Dr. Michelle Vieyra, Dr. Andrew Hatchette and Dr. Brian Parr, received an ASPIRE III (Infrastructure) grant for their work: Wireless Physiological Sensors to Explore the Pathophysiology and the Effects of Innovative Treatments for Traumatic Stress, Head Injuries and Emotional Dysregulation in Military Veterans, Student Athletes and Adults with ADHD: Out of the Laboratory and into the Field.

Nye graduates Berry College

Erin Nye of Aiken earned a Bachelor of Arts in French and English from Berry College.

Nye, Hanger named to dean’s list

Erin Nye and Clara Hanger were named to the dean’s list for the 2018 spring semester at Berry College.

Zorn joins honors society

Sarah Zorn of Warrenville was one of 13 Citadel cadets initiated into Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society.