Click to copy
Click to copy

Mississippi school board names 2 nonvoting student members

June 12, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Mississippi’s state Board of Education is choosing two students for the first time as non-voting representatives.

Board members on Wednesday named junior Omar Jamil of Hernando and senior Shelby Dean of Clinton. They will join the board beginning in July.

Dean will step down after she graduates next spring, with Jamil serving another year as senior representative. The board will select a new junior each year.

Jamil and Dean were selected from 52 nominees statewide. They will provide nonvoting input on state education policies. The board already includes a teacher and an administrator in voting positions.

Junior Meghan Cosper-Gamache of Laurel and senior Alvin Ray Jones Jr. of Heidelberg will serve as alternates. They’ll step in if representatives can’t complete their terms.

The board approved adding student representatives last year.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.