Click to copy
Click to copy

Blaine County added to Oklahoma ice storm disaster list

March 16, 2017

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — Blaine County has been added to the list of Oklahoma counties approved for a disaster declaration as a result of an ice storm that struck the state in January.

Gov. Mary Fallin announced Thursday that the county has been added to the list approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency for public assistance that includes federal funds to help municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with damages caused by the storms.

Other counties previously approved for the declaration are Beaver, Beckham, Dewey, Ellis, Harper, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Woods and Woodward.

The ice storm caused widespread power outages in northwest Oklahoma and was blamed for at least four deaths and about $22 million in infrastructure damage, debris and response costs.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.