Related topics

England wins toss, bowls in tri-series final vs. Australia

February 1, 2015

PERTH, Australia (AP) — England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and chose to bowl Sunday in the one-day tri-series final against Australia at the WACA Ground.

Fast bowler Mitchell Johnson returned to the Australian lineup for the match after a recent absence due to injury, displacing spinner Xavier Doherty.

England named the same lineup that beat India by three wickets on Friday to qualify for the final. The pitch for that match at the WACA provided uneven bounce which may have prompted Morgan’s decision to bowl.

Sunday’s match forms an important part of England and Australia’s preparation for the World Cup. They next meet in their first World Cup match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Feb. 14.


Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith, George Bailey (captain), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

England: Ian Bell, Moeen Ali, James Tayor, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Steve Finn.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.