Kane Williamson replaces David Warner as captain of IPL team

March 29, 2018
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson answers questions during a press conference following a training session ahead of the second cricket test against England in Christchurch, New Zealand, Thursday, March 29, 2018. New Zealand will play England in the second and final test at Hagley Oval starting Friday March 30. (AP Photo/Mark Baker)

NEW DELHI (AP) — Kane Williamson was appointed captain of the IPL’s Sunrisers Hyderbad on Thursday, replacing the suspended David Warner.

Warner has been suspended from cricket for ball tampering during Australia’s test series in South Africa. Williamson is currently playing with New Zealand in a home series against England.

Sunrisers Hyderabad CEO K. Shanmugam made the announcement on Twitter. The IPL starts April 7.

“I have accepted the role to stand in as captain for this season. It’s an exciting opportunity with a talented group of players. I look forward to the challenge ahead,” Williamson wrote on Twitter.

Australia captain Steve Smith has already relinquished the captaincy of the IPL’s Rajasthan Royals.

Cricket Australia has banned Smith and Warner for 12 months and Cameron Bancroft for nine months from all competition in Australia except club cricket.

IPL chairman Rajeev Shukla said Indian officials subsequently extended the ban to their lucrative Twenty20 league.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.